Original Problems (pages 131-140)

Original Problems (page 131)

Original fairy problems published during 2012 will participate in the informal tourney JF-2012

The site is mostly about fairies, but h# and s# are also welcomed for publication! Please send your problems to my e-mail: julia@juliasfairies.com

Go to:

Page-132 ♦♦♦ Page-133 ♦♦♦ Page-134 ♦♦♦ Page-135 ♦♦♦ Page-136

Page-137 ♦♦♦ Page-138 ♦♦♦ Page-139 ♦♦♦ Page-140
Pages 141-143


No.201 – h#2 by Peter Harris  – Though the black king is under “check” in the initial position, the solutions are difficult and beautiful!

I’m grateful to Peter for the dedication! And also I believe that it is thanks to Peter that I have 200 problems on the Christmas Eve! (JV)


Definitions:

Transmuted Kings: When they are threatened, the Kings move only like the threatening unit(s).

Super-Circe – When captured, a piece is reborn on any free field on the chess board without causing self-check or selfmate. Possible is also removal of captured piece from the board. The Pawns (white, black, neutrals, half- neutrals) can be reborn on the first or eight row also. When reborn on the first row  (for Black) or on the eight row (for White) the promotion is obligatory. When reborn on the first row  (for White) or on the eight row (for Black) the Pawns are immovable.


No.201 Peter Harris
South Africa
original-23.12.2012
Dedicated to the creator of JF
 
201-h#2-ph
h#2             b) Rd1→d7              (3+2)
Transmuted Kings
Super-Circe
 
Solution: (click to show/hide)
 

The diagrams are made on WinChloe and its Echecs font is used for Logo design

 

 

2 Responses to Original Problems (pages 131-140)

  1. Nikola Predrag says:

    Indeed very nice and economical. wK helps his other 2 pieces to make a cage for transmuted bK. Model mirror-mate in b) is particularly economical. (I thought that it could be a perfect mate with kamimaze Queen on h1, but for some reason there’s no solution in that case.)

    Also, since wK can play to a7 without being checked, in twin b)(Rd1->d7) bRh1 would be enough for the intended solution and the cook:
    1.Kxd7 [+wRh8] h7 2.Rxh7 [+wPg8=wQ] Rh8xh7 [+bRd6]#
    might be accepted as showing another promotion.

    Another interesting thing:
    bRh1 (instead of bQ) in a)(diagram) gives only 1 solution:
    1.Kg5 Rxh1 [+bRh5] 2.Kg5xh6 [+wPg4] Rh1xh5 [+bRg6]#

    So, after all those attempts, for a moment I thought that my first impression (that it’s very dificult to deal with those combined conditions) was wrong. Then I tried to slightly change the diagram position moving bKd5>d6 with bRh1 (instead of bQ). And my first impression was convincingly proved right 🙂

    • Dmitri TurevskiDmitri Turevski says:

      Popeye seems to treat Kamikaze + Circe in a very interesting way:
      Stipulation ~1
      Condition Circe
      Pieces
      white Kamikaze Ba1
      black Pb2
      1.kBa1*b2 [+bPb7][wkBb2->c1] !

      Kamikaze annihilation is treated as another capture?! Two pieces are captured by this move and two reborn according to Circe rules.

      It gets more counter-intuitive when Circe is changed to SuperCirce, one would expect both pieces to reborn anywhere, but no:
      1.kBa1*b2 !
      1.kBa1*b2[wkBb2-> any square] !
      Black pawn is annihilated like its rebirth square is occupied by bishop!?

      Is this really how it should be?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can add images to your comment by clicking here.