No.738 (VC&AT)

No.738
Vlaicu Crișan (Romania) &
Andreas Thoma 
(Germany)

JF-LOGO-1

Original Problems
JF Retro and PG problems 2015-2016

   →Previous ; →Next ; →List 2015(I)

Please send your original fairy problems to: julia@juliasfairies.com


No.738 by Vlaicu Crișan & Andreas Thoma – Unusually long and interesting Retro-play! (JV)


Definition:

Anti-Circe: After a capture the capturing piece (Ks included) must immediately be removed to its game array square (necessarily vacant, else the capture is illegal). R, B & S go to the square of the same colour as the capture; Ps stay on the file of capture; fairy pieces go to the promotion square of the file of capture.

Proca Retractor: In Retractors, White and Black retract (take back) a given number of moves (-n moves), in order to reach a position in which a forward stipulation (e.g. #1, s#1) is met. Proca is a defensive retractor. Given a choice, Black will retract those moves that avoid or delay White’s goal. Black may defend by mating White through a forward move, if such an opportunity exists after one of Black’s retractions. Unless otherwise specified, forward defense is the default condition of Proca retractors.(def. from StrateGems, http://strategems.net/sections/fairy_defs.html)


No.738 Vlaicu Crișan &
Andreas Thoma

Romania / Germany

original – 01.03.2015

Solution: (click to show/hide)

white   ke1 Pb2e7 black ke5 Sh8 Pb3

-20 & #1      Proca Retractor     (3+3)
Anti-Circe


5 Responses to No.738 (VC&AT)

  1. Kjell Widlert says:

    Effectively doubles the content of 706.1, with only 6 pieces!

    Has the draw pendulum in AntiCirce-Proca ever been doubled in miniature form before? I remember only doublings (and one 4-fold setting) with many more pieces.

  2. seetharaman says:

    It is funny to see the 3-move repetition rule for ‘Tournament Chess’ being applied to Anti-circe problems ! Unlike the en-passant, casling or promotions, this is not a chess rule. But more akin to 5o-move draw rule of Tournament Chess. There is no automatic draw after the third repetition. In the tournament, either player has to claim it!

  3. Mike Neumeier says:

    I lost it at Move 2 ( uncapturing Ke2xBd1). How could white have been standing on e2, in check (diagonally flanked) by both bBd1 and bPf3? Never saw a double check like that before. I must be blind to legal retro play.

  4. Kostas Prentos says:

    The bPf3 does not give check in Anti-Circe, because its rebirth square (e7) is occupied.

    • Mike Neumeier says:

      Thanks. Did not know that about Anti-Circe checks being nullified if rebirth square occupied. Knew about how captures themselves applied. Does make sense…wK needn’t move away…an empty threat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can add images to your comment by clicking here.