Сказочное условие“back-home”=возвращение домой
(9th of June, 2013 – только английская версия)
Download (PDF, 229KB)
It’s interesting that Nicolas has already a first Prize at J.M. Trillon-MT with an astonishing proof game: 1.d4 e5 2.d5 e4 3.d6 e3 4.dxc7 exf2+ 5.Kd2 d5 6.e4 d4 7.e5 d3 8.Ke3! d2 9.Qh5 Bg4 (needs to say that if 8.Qh5? Bg4 then 9.Ke1! is mandatory) 10.e6 Bf3 11.e7 Kd7 12.exf8=Q! (the Q promotion will be justified later) 13.c8=Q+! Kd6 (now, the Knight e7 is pinned, so Sg8 is forbidden) 14.b4 Rxf8 15.b5 Sg8 16.Be2 d1=S+! 17.Bxd1 f5 18.Sd2 f1=S+! 19.Sxf1 Sc6 20.Qg6+ Kc5 21.a4 (now, the Knight c6 is pinned by Qc8 and the Q promotion is justified) 21…Rxc8. Four Schnoebelen promotions. The problem has two co-authors, M. Caillaud and M. Richter.
Very interesting Fairy condition. Just one question: Is there any restriction on the “back-home” move? I presume it can also be a capture.
The only restriction is that a back-home move must be légal. So a capture is allowed, only self-checks (in the back-home sense) are forbidden.
Of course one have to pay attention to the fact that a self-check in the back-home sense generally differs from a self-check in the orthodox sense.
It is perhaps not very clear in the rules, so I add that only a visible piece in the diagram position has a back-home square. It is its initial square, which is even kept after a rebirth. But a new piece (for example a sentinel) doesn’t have any back-home square.
Back-home looks indeed interesting and tricky. Did I get it right? Could this be correct h=2* or at lest, are the final positions stalemates?
White Ke4 Re3 Pf3 Pg3 Pc2 Rf2 Qg2
Black Pf4 Pd2 Pe2 Ph2 Bd1 Ke1
h=2*, Back-Home, 7+6
1… gxf4 2.h1S Qf1=
1.fxg3 f4 2.h1B Rf1=
Setplay – not a stalemate, black may play 3.Kxf2
Solution – I do not see any issue, but WinChloe cannot find the solution. Also, 1…Kd3 seems as good as 1…f4.
I may be wrong, of course…
I woke up suddenly this morning because in sleep I became aware that set-play is not stalemate. 2…Qf1 Kxf2 is indeed a very stupid mistake showing that the scheme is basically wrong. It’s usually wise to sleep BEFORE posting 🙂
1.fxg3 f4 opens the diagonal so after 2.h1B Rf1=, 3.Bxg2+ is illegal because then the back-home move 3…Rf2 would not be legal and bK would be attacked>3.Bxg2-selfcheck?
Of course I may be wrong again (:
No, 1…Kd3 is not good because of 3.Bh1xQg2 which is no more a self-check.
The solution is not a stalemate position because Black can play 3.Bxc2 which is not a self-check. Indeed the game continue with 3…Rf2 4.Bd1.
Of course I see the idea of the problem, 3.Bxg2 is a self-check as it is a check and therefore White has no more its back-home possibility Rf2.
Your problem would be correct, dear Nikola, if Bd1 was also promoted, so that d1 was no more its initial position…
The following scheme is C+:
1.d1=F h5 2.d2 T×g3 3.ç3 Té3 4.h1=C Tf1=
Of course it must be polished, the ultimate goal in this setup would be a Black AUW!
yes stupid me, Bxc2 is not a check because of a back-home obligation. I should have slept twice before posting. I did think about other possibilites but that “false check” by Bd1 seemed as an elegant tool.
Anyway, the idea of 2 antidualistic promotions to B/S, seemingly can’t be realized with a scheme like that. I am personally not much interested in AUW, but in the motivations for particular moves, including the promotions.
The failure with h=2 predicts that h=3 could be only worse (without a solving program). I’ll try once again, with sincere apologies if there are too stupid mistakes again.
At least I hope that the comments of my failures could provide a better understanding of Back-Home condition to some other visitors. A rough attempt:
White Rd8 Pf5 Sg5 Pf4 Kg4 Pa2 Re2 Qf2
Black Pf7 Pe6 Pa3 Pc3 Pf3 Pc2 Pd2 Pg2 Sb1 Rc1 Kd1
1.g1B Sxe6 2.fxe6 Kg3 3.exf5 Re1=
1.fxe2 Sf3 2.exf5+ Kg5 3.g1S Qe1=
No, these are not stalemates:
After 4. deB(or Q) white have to play Kg4, followed by 5. B(Q) d2
Yes, without WinChloe it is difficult to manage back-home traps! I hope that Popeye will soon be able to handle this condition too.
Your solutions are false. I have to find by myself why, as the computer doesn’t answer!
For the second one, I think that 4.KxQe1 is legal as White must reply its back-home move 4…Kg4, which is no more a self-check as Black must at its turn play its back-home move 5.Kd1!
For the first one, this is more or less the same reason: 4.Kxe1 Kg4 5.Kd1+
But WinChloe gives 5 “true” solutions:
1.g1=T f×é6 2.Tg2+ R×f3 3.f5 R×g2=
1.g1=T R×f3 2.Tg2 f×é6 …
1.g1=F f×é6 2.F×f2 R×f3 3.f5 R×f2=
1.g1=F f×é6 2.f5+ R×f3 3.F×f2 …
1.g1=C C×f3 2.C×f3 f6 3.Cé5+ f×é5=
Dear Georgy and Nicolas, thanks for your patience.
The legality of 3 extra half-moves decides about the stalemate, even the reduced choice of promotions 4.d2xe1Q/B. A true challenge is to use these possibilities richly.
Yes, on one hand it should exists even more complicated situations where the status of some move depends on more than 3 extra half-moves. As said in the article:
“It implies that some induction process may appear in order to verify back-home move legality. Nevertheless it seems it never leads to infinite loops, although it may lead to a rather delicate exploration of what can happen in the future of the position. ”
On the other end, it is possible for a side to checkmate (or to stalemate) even when equipped with some back-home move possibility. A very nice example is provided by the series problem of Christian in the article.
Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *
You can add images to your comment by clicking here.
Enter your username and password below to login.
Complete the form below to register.
Enter your email address to reset your password.