No.411 (PH)

No.411
Peter Harris (South Africa)

JF-LOGO-1

Original Problems, Julia’s Fairies – 2013 (III): September- December

  →Previous ; →Next ; →List 2013(III)

Please send your original fairy problems to: julia@juliasfairies.com


No.411 by Peter Harris – Another problem with uncommon stipulation h##3, beidmatt. See some comments about it also to Peter’s No.410.  (JV)


Definitions:

Transmuted Kings: When they are threatened, the Kings move only like the threatening unit(s).

h## –  Help-Double mate in n moves: Black begins and  help White to create on the n-th move a position where Black and White are mate.
More explanation gives Juraj Lörinc on his website (thanks to Eric Huber for pointing it!):

Q: I noticed strange symbol ## in a stipulation of a problem. What does it mean?
A: This is the aim of a problem, similar to well known mate (symbol #) or stalemate (symbol =). ## is used in the same sense that solving program Popeye has for it. It is beidmatt and its definition may be given as follows: it is the position in which both kings are mated. The last move reaching this position may be played even if it leaves own king under check or it is selfcheck, but the king of the side playing the move reaching beidmatt mustn’t be mated yet before this move is played. It is different from gegenmatt that is symbolized in Popeye by ##! and that has no restriction on position immediately preceeding last move of solution. Gegenmatt is usually called doublemate in English, beidmatt having no counterpart.


No.411 Peter Harris
South Africa
original – 02.11.2013
 
411-h##3-ph
h##3           b) bKb6→a2         (3 + 3)
Transmuted Kings
 
 
Solutions: (click to show/hide)
 

One Response to No.411 (PH)

  1. Peter Harris says:

    In the wording quoted from Juraj Lorinc’s website it is stated that for beidmatt the wK cannot be in a mated position when making his last move but that gegenmatt

    has no restriction on position immediately preceeding last move of solution.

    As a matter of interest: with Popeye, when the h##! for gegenmatt is used the beidmatt solutions do not appear. So more precisely this means that for Popeye it is not that there is no restriction but that it is essential that when W makes his last move that he is in a mate position! In my problem no solutions are given for (a) and two are given for (b) viz.

    1.Rc7-g7 + Kg1-c1 2.Rg7-e7/g3 Rf2-f4 3.Ba7-e3 + Be2-c4 ##!

    On the other hand with WinChloe, when h## is used both beidmatt and gegenmatt solutions are given. So Winchloe uses gegenmatt on the no restriction basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can add images to your comment by clicking here.