No.566 (PAP)

ppetkovNo.566 
Petko A. Petkov 
(Bulgaria)

JF-LOGO-1

Original Problems, Julia’s Fairies – 2014 (II): May – August

  →Previous ; →Next ; →List 2014(II)

Please send your original fairy problems to: julia@juliasfairies.com


No.566 by Petko A. Petkov – Light Disparate Miniature! (JV)


Definitions:

Disparate: If one side makes a move with a piece of type “x” (black, white, neutral, half-neutral, etc., King included), the other side cannot answer immediately by moving a piece of the same type “x”. (For example: white Qc1, black Ka8,Qa7 – mate in 1 move. After 1.Qc8#, Black is mated because 1…Qb8? is illegal. The mate is possible also with the neutral nQc1 – after 1.nQc8#. Black cannot move the same neutral Queen.) Every Pawn’s promotion is a Pawn’s move, therefore after such promotion (into any possible piece) the other side cannot answer immediately with its Pawn. We can say that after the move of the figure of type “x” any enemy figure of type “x” falls under Half-moving paralysis. This paralysis disappears immediately on the next half-move, if the opponent plays with another piece of type “y”. (This way it is implemented in Popeye. Another implementation of Disparate you can find in WinChloe, but it is based on the different rules. )

Anti-Andernach: A piece (excluding King) changes its color after any non-capturing move. After capture, the piece retains its color. Rooks on a1, h1, a8 and h8 can be used for castling, provided the usual other rules for that move are satisfied. After castling, Rooks do not change color, If White makes a non-capturing move with neutral or halfneutral piece, that piece becomes black and vice versa.


No.566 Petko A. Petkov
Bulgaria

original – 06.07.2014

Solutions: (click to show/hide)

white Kg1 Bh4 black Ka8 Rf3 Pb7

hs#2*                                          (2+3)
Anti-Andernach
Disparate


3 Responses to No.566 (PAP)

  1. Seetharamanseetharaman says:

    Pretty idea! It seems that Anti Andernach condition not necessary if Neutral R & B are used. I could be wrong of course as I have not fully grasped Disparate!

  2. Seetharamanseetharaman says:

    Of course I was wrong ! White simply moves the intended neutral piece away after black king move !

  3. shankar ram says:

    reflected echo of final positions.. across a8-h1 diagonal..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can add images to your comment by clicking here.