Julia's Fairies

No.741 (AA)

Alberto Armeni 


Original Problems
JF Retro and PG problems 2015-2016

   ?Previous ; ?Next ; ?List 2015(I)

Please send your original fairy problems to: julia@juliasfairies.com

No.741 by Alberto Armeni – AUW in PG5,5 Annan Chess! (JV)


Annan Chess: If two pieces of the same colour are standing close to each other in N-S-direction, the front piece moves only like the rear piece as long as the contact is existing. The front piece is that piece that is closer to the own promotion line. White/Black Pawns on the 1st/8th rank cannot move, but can give their kind of moving to a front piece. Officers moving with the power of a Pawn to the promotion line do not promote; if they make a double-step with the power of a Pawn, they cannot be captured en-passant; but officers with the power of a Pawn can capture a Pawn en-passant.

No.741 Alberto Armeni

original – 05.03.2015

Solution: (click to show/hide)

white Bf1c1 Ke1 Qd1 Ph2g2f2e2d2c2b2a2 Sg1b1 Rh1a1 black Bf8c8 Ke8 Qd8 Ph7g7f7e7d7c7b7a7 Sg8b8 Rh8a8

PG 5,5                                  (12+12)
Annan Chess

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mike Neumeier
Mike Neumeier
March 26, 2015 04:43

Solved it. I like solving short ones when it’s a new genre for me, as this was. An AUW+1 crammed into 5.5 moves! At first I thought f2-b6 was needed, later moving like a Q to e6 (getting to wPe6 was the toughest question for me), but I needed to kill a bishop, then things resolved quickly. Annan played as a competitive game would make gambits the norm. Then, if lucky enough to aquiesce to end games, these could be quite interesting. To imagine just K&P endings, K under a P in the North could allow P to move sideways (like a king)!

Mike Neumeier
Mike Neumeier
March 26, 2015 04:51

Kings under “or” over P’s in the North give that sideways power to P.

Mike Neumeier
Mike Neumeier
March 26, 2015 06:01
Reply to  Mike Neumeier

Just under…I guess Kings measure to a “promotion line,” too, though do not promote.

Mike Neumeier
Mike Neumeier
March 26, 2015 05:02

Actually, f2-b6 was doing nothing useful! For a time, mistakenly thought if under observation by d8Q, it would move, but only over/under neighbors transfer power (“N-S”).

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x