sluceNo.663 
Sébastien Luce 
(France)

JF-LOGO-1

Original Problems, Julia’s Fairies – 2014 (III): September – December

→Previous→Next ; →List 2014(III)

Please send your original fairy problems to: julia@juliasfairies.com


No.663 by Sébastien Luce – A miniature with Malefic Phantom, neutral pieces, AUW! (JV)


Definitions:

Malefic Phantom: A piece (King excepted) can also play from its rebirth square if it is empty. The rebirth square of a piece is the square occupied at the beginning of an orthodox game by a piece of the same kind and of the other side.
Related to the square they occupied before the rebirth :
 – Rooks, Bishops and Knights are reborn on the square of the same color.
 – Pawns (including fairy Pawns) are reborn on the same file.
 – Other fairy pieces are reborn on the same file and on the promotion rank of the other side.


No.663 Sébastien Luce
France

original – 12.12.2014
Dedicated to Chris Feather

Solutions: (click to show/hide)

white Kd5 black Kf8 neutral Pa7d7

ser-h#3       b) Pa7→b7       (1+1+2)
Malefic Phantom


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
7 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Geoff Foster
Geoff Foster
December 10, 2014 00:39

In Malefique PhantomChess a pawn is able to move to its promotion square from anywhere on the same file.

(a) Black can move the nPa7 via a2, because that is the Circe rebirth square for a white a-file pawn. In the mate the nRa7 attacks the top rank via h8.

(b) Now promotion to nR won’t work, because a nRb7 is on the wrong colour square (for White it would attack the top rank via a8). In the mate the nQ attacks the bK via d8, and the nS guards e7 via g8.

Does Popeye have an equivalent to ‘Malefique’?

Geoff Foster
Geoff Foster
December 10, 2014 00:51

Sorry, I made a mistake. In (b) the nQ also attacks e7, so the nS is not needed. The nPd7 must vacate d7 to make way for the bK, but if 1.d6? then the nPd6 would attack e8 via d7, preventing 2.Ke8. The nPd7 must promote on d1, but a nBd1 would attack d7 via c8, so a “dummy” nS is required!

Nikola Predrag
Nikola Predrag
December 10, 2014 01:56

Isn’t nSd1 needed to prevent selfcheck?

luce
luce
December 10, 2014 02:08

Thank you Geoff for these explanations
and note that in b) it is 2.Ke8 not 2.Ke7 because of the “phantom presence” of neutral Knight in g8, not so “dummy” !
SL

luce
luce
December 10, 2014 13:05

There is no Malefic Phantom in Popeye.
Winchloe is much more prolific for fairy pieces (1150 in the program) and for conditions (808 in the program)
SL

Nikola Predrag
Nikola Predrag
December 10, 2014 17:08

Obviously, my question doesn’t deserve an answer!
Is 1.Ke7 2.Kxd7 legal in b)?
If yes, 2…b8nQ(#)?? would be illegal due to the selfcheck to wK.
That seems as the only relevant reason for B1 move.

What I don’t understand in the rules?

Kjell Widlert
Kjell Widlert
December 10, 2014 21:13
Reply to  Nikola Predrag

I see it the same way:
b) 1.Ke7 2.Kxd7 must be legal, so 1.d1S is necessary solely to stop b8nQ being a self-check. And luckily, the same wS stops the dual 2.Ke7.